Follow Us On:

Rockwood Summit newspaper wins awards

Posted on Monday, June 19, 2017 at 10:19 am

Submitted to the Current
The Rockwood Summit newspaper, Talon, won at least 24 awards this semester, from Quill & Scroll, the Missouri Interscholastic Press Association and Journalism StL.
Below is a list of awards earned by the Talon:
From Quill & Scroll (the international honor society for high school journalists)-
– Gold Key Award for News Writing to senior Lauren Bishop (former News Editor)
– Gold Key Award for Political Writing to senior Lauren Bishop (former News Editor)
– Gold Key Award for Editorial Writing to senior Alexis White (former Editor-in-Chief)
From the Missouri Interscholastic Press Association-
– All Missouri (first place) for The Talon Staff in Overall Newspaper
– All Missouri for Feature Story to sophomore Isabella Eslick (former Copy Editor, current News Editor)
– All Missouri for News Story to Alexis White and Lauren Bishop
– All Missouri for Sports Reaction Photo to sophomore Kaitlin Higgins
– All Missouri for Sports Reaction Photo to junior Sarah Faust (former Photo Editor, current Editor-in-Chief)
– Superior (second place) for News Story to senior Olivia Moses (former Editor-in-Chief of Web) and juniors Kennedy Lawrence and Charlie Walters
– Superior for Sports Action Photo to Sarah Faust
– Superior for Sports Reaction Photo to Kaitlin Higgins
– Excellent (third place) for News Story to Lauren Bishop
– Excellent for Op-Ed to sophomore Kaelyn Wondell (current Features Editor)
– Excellent for Sports Reaction Photo to Sarah Faust
– Honorable Mention for News Story to senior Emily Beck (former Associate Editor)
– Honorable Mention for Op-Ed to Alexis White and Emily Beck
– Honorable Mention for Student Life/Orgs Photo to Sarah Faust
From Journalism StL-
– Best in Show Commentary to Alexis White
– Superior Inside Page Design to Sarah Faust
– Excellent Double Truck Design to alumna Stacy Rohan (Class of 2016, former Associate Editor)
– Excellent News Writing to Olivia Moses
– Excellent News Feature Writing to Lauren Bishop
– Excellent Commentary to Emily Beck
– Excellent Commentary to Emily Beck and Alexis White
Alexis White, 2016-17 Talon editor-in-chief, said last year the publication won a national award and a few local awards.
“But this year I think everything clicked into place,” said White. “We had strong editors and eager staff members that wanted to surpass all expectations we had for ourselves. We began this year with a goal of achieving more accolades, and we all worked diligently together to get there.”
The Pinnacle Yearbook and KFTN 92.7 have also received several awards this year, including many national awards. Additionally, eight journalism seniors were appointed to the NSPA 2017 Honor Roll. Those students are Nathan Higgins, Matthew Podjeski, Kelli Fink, Allie Seymour, Emily Beck, Lauren Bishop, Olivia Moses and Alexis White.
Teacher and journalism adviser Clay Zigler said, “This year was one of the best for Summit journalism students. I cannot express how proud I am of all three departments. This was the first time in several years that the newspaper entered the competition, so that was very special for us.”
White said four of the seven Talon seniors graduating this year are planning to study journalism in college.